In the sport of weightlifting, competitions are organised for men and women. The athletes compete in the categories specified in the rules, according to their bodyweight.

Age groups

The IWF recognises four (4) age groups:
i) YOUTH: 13 – 17 years of age
ii) JUNIOR: 15 – 20 years of age
iii) SENIOR: ≥15 years of age
iv) MASTERS: ≥35 years of age

For Olympic Games and Youth Olympic Games the relevant International Olympic Committee (IOC) Rules apply.

Bodyweight categories

At IWF Events and other competitions each country may enter a team of maximum ten (10) men and ten (10) women athletes but may participate with a team of maximum eight (8) men and eight (8) women athletes only, spread over the different categories with a maximum of two (2) athletes per category. For the Olympic Games Rule 5.3 applies.

During any competition, an athlete may not compete in more than one category.